Bade Bhai Sab & Bimar

Wonderful !!!

After a long interval I went there again, yes again to watch the play there at Gurukul. Thank god there was proper parking. Otherwise it would really have been hard for me to ride up there. I have longed a lot since the day I had known about the theatre festival to be happened; I had this misconception that the festival was only Nepali. After all the title is “Kathmandu International Theatre Festival”, how could I not understand the meaning “International”.

Gurukul beautifully decorated not like in the ordinary days, there were book stalls and I think music stalls. It was nice to find a book by Dr. Aruno Gupto which is an interpretation on Shrish Ko phul ( By Parijat) and Agni Ko Katha ( By Abhi Subedi ).

Yes I was alone, once again. I just flick through the book and the time came to enter. I am always proud to buy a 100 rupee ticket because I believe that much I can do as a contribution. There is no any difference I feel in a 25 rupee ticket which I can easily get by showing my id card and the hundred rupee one. But it’s my personal tribute.

The Plays-:

The play was wonderful. This is the first time that I have watched a Hindhi drama, and the first experience was really wonderful. I am telling this to every body that “I kept on smiling for a long time “.

The plot, characters, and action everything was so much fine and beautiful. All the characters were male and I wonder that all male play can be such a wonderful thing. However the director was a lady. The actors were so deep into the character that they look awesome acting there in the stage. The first one Bade Bhai Sab, was too good. The actors were playing the role of a child, creating childhood emotions and exposing their talent.

I must say the actors were brilliant. They didn’t miss anything. The real looking characters, the dialogues the ego problems..etc etc..all was awesome.

The story of two brothers in Bade Bhai Sab, their problems related to study, the seriousness and the easiness, the flying of kite. The natural acting..the actors deep into character..such an wonderful piece of art. I really felt happy to see a different play.

Another “Bimar” a farce…it made me laugh, laugh and laugh continuously, uncontrollably. But it was serious, that serious a part must not be avoided. However comic and actions the play the issue was serious. How we lack confidence not to believe in ourselves and believe in others ? The play though about sickness, gives us sense that we want everything to be good and in this search for goodness we don’t hear our inner voice which would guide us more thatn anything wlse but we are always in temptation to hear others and their we fail. The final state of the person who was sick is really bad….though we all laughed at him because of his crazyness, it was his mental breakdown.. the most serious..

Finally I got refreshed …It was refreshing..laughter producing..I loved everything about the play.. and Gurukul..it Rocks…

3 Responses

  1. Hi sweta. nice as usual. I’ ve also been planning to go to this International theater festival at Gurukul..but being unable. but planning to go soon……… I think i will go on the day of Karnali Dakshin Bagdo chha…..coz I’m desperate to watch this drama (after reading about it on your blog and hearing good response about it from many colleagues)

  2. dear sweta, I would also love to go to Gurukul soon… yeah, I plan to watch Karnali Dakshin Bagdo chha… because I have heard loads of appreciation about this particular drama, from you and from my brother as well… I hope I can make it. And, I am not planning to buy a 100 rupee ticket though… hehehe… but I appreciate your contribution… hope i can do something from my side as well…
    I hope you are gonna be more regular… why don;t you update your blog as you used to do before huh?
    keep writing dearie!!

  3. You are going there that is a huge contribution..and yes you have chosed to watch Karnali Dakkhin Bagdo cha..unlike sanjeev…I think It wud b the best drama… I think I wud be going there for the third time…lets c.. if I can manage…

    I would try to write..hehe jus taking a break
    thanks

Leave a Reply

