Kaagbeni….

Wow!! if I say this to me then it would be a serious cheating to myself. So I say it was nice.

Yes, I am talking about Kaagbeni, the first digitalized movie in Nepal I guess. How much I had expected from the movie was all in vain. I had a great desire to see the movie in Hall but I never got a chance because of my hectic schedule and come on I can’t go alone and watch the movie. I had no courage to go for the movie alone. So, my desire of watching the movie was never fulfilled.

I was happy that Kaagbeni was released in DVD and I am proud that I got to watch the original DVD thanks to Bishesh. After pleading with him for a movie in my Fast day. the movie was good I must say because it is the first try and I appreciate everything about the movie by my heart, seriously. But to my dismay I had expected so much from the movie. A lot more than a hindhi movie.

I really do not watch Hindhi movie at all. I do not have time to watch my favorite soaps too. ( or I am not allowed to watch ) So, I am always away from the TV and movies. Thanks to Internet at my office that I am not away from it anytime. I just love Chatting with my friends especially group chatting in MSN. ( It is always fun to talk with old friends)

So, I was talking about Kaagbeni..Kagbeni was a wonderful movie. The setting was wonderful, scenes were heart trembling. Everything about the movie was good. But I didn’t understood the movie. Perhaps it is because I have not read the story The Monkey’s Paw. But I could not understand it really. Is it that because I really watch movie less so I could not understand Kaagbeni. Also the acting by Saugat Malla, Deeya Maskey, Nima Rumba was good. But I thought that there was no accent that has to match to the setting and the plot of the movie. Puja Gurung was superb and the flirting scene was so good. She had a good accent as the character needed. But what about Nima Rumba and other charatcters themselves.  

The expressions except some where not so good. Perhaps they did not knew how to act in front of camera. I have seen Saugat Malla acting in drama. He was good in movie too. But there must have been a Bhote accent in his language ni hoina?? 

Either the movie coulnot meet my expectaions I appreciate this try a lot. I appreciate their hard work a lot and I have a respectful heart to them. All the crew , cast , actors, and everything about the movie. I am happy that these kind of movie could be made in Nepal. The music was too soothing, everything was good but I could not understand the ending of the movie and from where Nima Rumba came if he was dead  and from where the Monkey’s Paw came again. This must be illusion of mine and I could not understand this part.

But I was entertained and this is the best part of the movie I felt. And still I want to watch it for the second time so that I can understand the movie.

P.S. I really encourage this kind of things. After all we are increasing our horizons. I am waiting for Sano Sansar’s release.

12 Responses

  1. Hi sweta,
    I really enjoyed reading your “words”.
    I made a Karkalo tarkari. But nobody liked it. I guess I don’t know how to make a tasty karkalo ko tarkari.
    Keep writing!!!!!
    Neeta

  2. hhehehe
    Neeta Ji Thanks for the comment but i think u commented on wrong post any way/…
    thank you for the comment

  3. I am here to write about Kagbeni, but when I see the karkalo ko tarkari, Yes, it is very easy and you must put nuun and Khursani, ummnnnn fry it for a long time without mixing water. Be sure that it is baked nicely. That’s it. Simple
    Try it again.

    Yap Kagbeni is really a touching movie.

    nep.suraj@gmail.com (if you are angry with my words scold me directly)

  4. I am here to write about Kagbeni, but when I see the karkalo ko tarkari, Yes, it is very easy and you must put nuun and Khursani ali dhery, ummnnnn fry it for a long time without mixing water. Be sure that it is bakeda and fried nicely. That’s it. Simple

  5. heeheh
    thats a mistake!!! but u know…I just hate karkalo….either with nuun…n khursani….I must have expecting a comment for kagbeni not the karkalo….
    come on guys!!!

  6. kaagbeni is reslly very good movie in nepali film industry.Bhushan dahal has done a very excelent job but i dont understand why everyone is talking abt karkalo in this comments….

  7. u r 2 cool in expressing urself…n a gud poet too. i liked the detailing of the events (of course those which i could read) i guess more work can b done in making the appearance of ur work more attractive, may b some more colors in it…or may b some background pics….rest of the thing is just superb. well done n keep it up!

  8. just to let everybody know
    kaagbeni is a story from british old story “the monkey paw” . Nepali are just chors. (i am included too)
    i hate when they say the story writer is some bhaskar dhungana. why do nepali never know to give the original writer credit???

  9. here is the half of my previous comment
    the original writer is W W Jacobs and written in 1902.

  10. I was desperately waiting the appropriate moment to watch this movie but can not yet. I rarely watch Hindi and even Nepali movies but documentaries and historic movies. I love such videos because I watch movie for knowledge but not for entertainment. Recently, I watched ‘ Who Killed Diana’.

    Well, I appreciate your writing. Try to see through the other angle like gender bias or sensitivity that whether women are portrayed positively or only through stereotypical eyes. And philosophical discourse can be the next way to evaluate visuals. Beside you can search reason behind any scene and set, camera angle and the language of film.

    Keep writing.
    All the best..

  11. I was desperately waiting the appropriate moment to watch this movie but can not yet. I rarely watch Hindi and even Nepali movies but documentaries and historic movies. I love such videos because I watch movie for knowledge but not for entertainment. Recently, I watched ‘ Who Killed Diana’.

    Well, I appreciate your writing. Try to see through the other angle like gender bias or sensitivity that whether women are portrayed positively or only through stereotypical eyes. And philosophical discourse can be the next way to critically evaluate visuals. Beside you can search reason behind any scene and set, camera angle and the language of film.

    Keep writing.
    All the best..

  12. Proud to say Kagbeni is one of my best Nepali movies.. after Balidan.. I’m also proud to say- I’ve understood every part and scenes of this movie clearly and perfectly.. Sathi Sweta, you can ask me anything you didn’t understand about the movie.. ..

    Good movies- you just watch and are not over.. you have to think why this happen… how this happen.. Yes, Kagbeni was not a commercial hit.. for the audiences who make the worsts like Rekha Thapa’s Kismat a massive hit, i think the case of Kagbeni should be considered. It came before its perfect time considering those audiences of stereotypical Nepali movies

    And fren Ujjwal, it has not mentioned anywhere that the story writer is bhaskar dhungana…he is the producer/ the owner of Jay Nepal cinema hall… it has been clearly mentioned in the movie that the story is adapted from an English story “the monkey’s paw”. The flaw I found is that the movie has not been localized as required….

Leave a Reply

